Mar 3, 2012

Google Doodle about the Liberation of Bulgaria

Google celebrates the Liberation of Bulgaria from the Ottoman Empire.

Top 5 facts about the Liberation of Bulgaria:

1. March 3rd is the Liberation day of Bulgaria. It is a National holiday. 

2.  Bulgaria celebrates its liberation from almost 500 years of Ottoman rule under the Treaty of San Stefano of 3 March 1878.

Bulgaria’s nationhood was established back in the early 7th century (A.D.) when the first Bulgarian Empire began at around 632 and 681 A.D lasting until 1018 covering most of the Balkans, a geopolitical region in Southern Europe. Bulgarians had their own government, and distinct culture, education, literature, arts, religion and economic way of life before the Turks came in. The Slavic people consider Bulgaria as the centre of European culture and arts before the Ottoman Empire colonized the region.
The Ottoman Empire occupied Bulgaria from the latter half of the 14th century (or 15th century in some literature) until the end of Russo-Turkish War in 1877-1878 taking advantage of the decline in power of the Second Bulgarian Empire between 1185 and 1396/1422. Right after the Russo-Turkish War, Bulgaria saw the opportunity to re-establish its Third Bulgarian Empire and founded a new era of constitutional monarchy in 1878 as supported by the Treaty of San Stefano.

3. The Treaty of San Stefano ended the Russo-Turkish War in 1877 and paved the way for the liberation of Bulgaria and once again establishes itself as a nation and successfully put the country back on the world map.
4. In the same year, at Berlin congress, Treaty of Berlin (1878) was adopted, according to which, the territories of the Bulgarian state, created as of San Stefano's treaty were divided into three parts: the first part was the Principality of Bulgaria which functioned independently but nominally within the Ottoman Empire, this was limited to Moesia and neighbouring areas of the capital Sofia; the second part created was to be an autonomous province of the Ottoman Empire - Eastern Rumelia; the third and the largest part - Macedonia and Lozengrad were given back to the Ottoman Empire, also some outlands were given to Serbia and Romania. The seized territories from Bulgaria after Berlin congress - most of Macedonia, Thrace, etc. were with an ethnic Bulgarian majority. On September 6, 1885, Eastern Rumelia became part of Princiapality of Bulgaria after a bloodless unification, though still de jure within the Ottoman Empire.

5. The third Bulgarian state gained full sovereignty from the Ottoman Empire on 22 September 1908 when declaring independence.

Other Google Doodles about Bulgaria:

Google Doodle with Bulgarian Alphabet

Google Doodle Marenitza - symbol of health and happiness

Today Bulgaria is a parliamentary republic in Southeastern Europe.Bulgaria is a member of the European UnionNATO, the Council of Europe, a founding state of the OSCE. The population of 7.36 million people is predominantly urban.

1 comment:


Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...